Nominate a Student For an AAUP-UC Scholarship!

Each year, the AAUP-UC awards two $1,000 scholarships at our spring luncheon.

Members of the bargaining unit are invited to nominate worthy Utica College students in their next-to-last year at Utica College. This includes juniors or students who are continuing in(to) a graduate program at Utica College.

The Virgil C. Crisafulli Scholarship is awarded each year to a junior for demonstrated outstanding leadership in regard to at least one of AAUP’s core values such as academic freedom, professional responsibility, civic service, humanitarian concern for others, and solidarity with those who share the common goals of equity and voice for all.

The Robert W. Millett Scholarship is awarded for academic excellence reflecting the values of the AAUP: respect for open dialogue and the free exchange of ideas; the right to self-expression; integrity in scholarly endeavors; and support for academic freedom.

While any nominee should have both an outstanding academic record and an interest in service to the community, the emphasis for each award is different. The Millett scholarship highlights academics and the Crisafulli scholarship highlights service. A subcommittee of the governing board reviews the nominations and determines the winners of the scholarships.

To nominate a student, email the nominee’s name and a letter of recommendation to either of the scholarship subcommittee members: Denise Nepveux or Leonore Fleming.

Please be sure to specify which scholarship you are nominating your student for, and submit your nominations by Thursday, April 21.

See last year’s winners here.